About

I am a clinical research manager by day, writer, yogi, runner, meditator, cat-lover and wife in my free/me time. I was born in Wisconsin but have made Minnesota (Twin Cities area) my home since 1998. My Dad was born in Mexico, thus the “mexi” part of me, and my Mom is Minnesotan. So I can be described as a “pale Latina” which reflects my Swedish/Mexican/Cornish/Spanish/(god knows what else) ancestry.

Originating from more than one culture helps me see and interpret the world in a different way from most people, and that it is an asset. In refining my second language (Spanish) skills in the last 10 years or so, I have been able to connect with my Mexican and Latina heritage more than I had done since I was in grade school.

This blog is an attempt for me to make sense of my life, experiences, the world around me and to voice some of the concerns of people who may not be heard. I will refine and reflect as I go along, and we will see what this becomes. Please feel free to share your thoughts and comments with me so we might have some dialogue on topics that matter.

Email me at cristy@meximinnesotana.com if you want to send me a more personal message, but I love your public comments as well.

Thank you for reading!

DisclaimerI sometimes write about topics like weight loss, yoga and my own personal life journey, but it is not my goal to give health advice. You should talk with your health practitioner(s) before using anything I have given here as a strategy for making changes in your own life. 

I also write about mental health, my career and educational journey and how various experiences have shaped the way I see the world. It is not my intention to provide counseling or specific advice in your situation. Please, if you need help see a trained therapist, counselor or physician. There is no shame in doing this and you deserve the support. Please do not wait if this is the case. 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s